Chief Minister Arvind should first fulfil the 10-point guarantee made to the people of Delhi before making a ‘jumla’ promise of giving Rs 1000 to every woman over 18 years in Punjab—Ch. Anil Kumar


Delhi Pradesh Congress Committee president Ch. Anil Kumar said that Delhi Chief Minister Arvind, who has made many promises in Assembly election-bound States, including Rs 1000 monthly pension to every woman over 18 years in Punjab, should first fulfill the 10-point Guarantee he had given to Delhiites. He said that Arvind’s seven-year rule has destroyed Delhi in every index of progress and development, but the Capital became No I in water and air pollution, unemployment, Covid devastation, price rise, and terrible public transport. He said that CM Arvind, who had promised to eradicate the vice of liquor and drug addiction in Punjab in his earlier political tour to the State, has not touched that subject in his current visit, as he has already made Delhi “Nashe Ki Rajdhani”, with a liberalized Excise Policy. He said that Punjab has 1 crore 10 lakh women population of over 18 years, and if all of them are given Rs 1000 per month, the State would need Rs 11300 crore to fulfil the promise, which is only nominally less than the State’s entire GST collection of Rs 11800 crore. He said that it defies logic and financial discipline to dole out almost a near total GST collection for welfare measures, at the cost of the State’s development, and overall growth.

Ch. Anil Kumar said that CM Arvind should first fulfill the promises made to the people of Delhi, and should set a good example by giving Rs 1000 to each of the over 13,000 unemployed youth registered with the job portal of the Delhi Government, and women. He said that CM Arvind talked about Women Empowerment in Punjab, but sadly, women are the most exploited and vulnerable category in Delhi, as widows have not been paid their pension for the last three years, with the Municipal Corporations of Delhi accusing the Arvind Government of withholding the pension funds, sexual assaults on women and children have gone up manifold, the Ladly Scheme, started by the Sheila Dikshit Congress

Residents’ Welfare Associations and religious bodies. He said that due to this retrograde policy, there are 18 Assembly constituencies which will have 216 new liquor vends, instead of the previous five. Others present were DPCC vice-president and leader of the Congress party in the South Delhi Municipal Corporation Shri Abhishek Dutt, Vice-Chairman of the Communications Department Shri Parvez Alam, and Municipal Councillors Ms. Yasmin Kidwai and Choudhary Zubair Ahmed.

Ch. Anil Kumar demanded that the Arvind Government implement the Ladly Scheme by hiking the amount from Rs 1 lakh to Rs 2 lakh which will enable girl students to get quality education. Leader of the Congress party in the South Delhi Municipal Corporation Shri Abhishek Dutt said that he will move a resolution in the South MCD House meeting on 25th November to oppose any move to open liquor vends at residential areas and unauthorized buildings. He said that the Arvind Government could provide only 440 jobs in the past seven years, but opened 864 liquor vends to make easy availability of liquor across Delhi. Municipal Councillor Jasmine Kidwai said that workers in her ward have been sitting on dharna, protesting against the opening of new liquor vends, asserting that the Congress party will not allow opening of liquor vends in her ward. Prominent leaders, besides Ch. Anil Kumar, who participated in the Jan Jagran Abhiyan were ex-MLA and Chairman of the Communications Department Shri Anil Bhardwaj, ex-MLAs Rajesh Jain, Kun. Karan Singh and Vijay Lochav and Shadi Ram, Shri Chattar Singh, DCC president Manoj Yadav, DPCC vice-president Mudit Agarwal, Shanti Swaroop, Kamal Kant Sharma, J.S. Neol, Chaman Lal Sharma, Rohtash Basoya, Delhi Pradesh Mahila Congress president Ms. Amrita Dhawan, Mirxza Javed, Mukesh Singhal, Smt. Kusum Chaudhary, Sunder Khari, Roshan Lal Ahuja, Satinder Sharma, Badruddin Khan, Master Rati Ram, Kuljit Singh, Gauri Shankar Sharma and Murai Lal, ex-Councillor Geeta Yadav and District President of Mahila Congress Vineeta, and Inder Kaushik.

Leave A Reply

Your email address will not be published.